Small Ideas

“What if we stitched smaller ideas together to create a longer idea”? – Gareth Kay

I cannot seem to get that quote out of my head. I found it on a blog post I hope to one day rediscover. Until then I have been combing the internet for references. During my exploration I found this talk by John Wilshire. I liked the idea of social media being a place to build meaning, as opposed to megaphone for brands. This notion helps to reconcile the idea of brands being complex and built collectively in the minds of consumers. Each idea, built upon the next, creates layers of meaning. The talk is below and worth a watch:

Are Brands Fracking the Social Web?

-John Wilshire, Smithery

Leave a Reply

